2012 To-Do List

3 Jan

Generally, I try to avoid resolutions. They’re just a recipe for disappointment — at least in my experience. Actually, come to think of it, I don’t know anyone who’s told me of their resolutions in January and actually followed through on them by December. (Yes, I’m talking to all you friends who swore to lose 20 lbs, stop drinking so much, start a hobby, and have more sex.) Last week, with 2012 looming over the horizon, I realized there are many things I’d like to do (in my own backyard, specifically) that I’ve yet to experience. So this year I decided to make a Westchester To-Do list:

1) Visit Rye Playland. Hubby and I got married in Rye, at The Wainwright House. It was a beautiful location, and every time we visited Wainwright for tastings and rehearsals and to look at table linens and layouts, we passed the signs leading to Rye Playland. And every time I said, “we should go there.” Alas, we never did. Fastforward to the present, and now I’m a mom. If I never had a reason before, I certainly do now.

2) Explore towns outside of my 3-town radius comfort zone. Ok, so this is kind of a broad statement, and one that’s not entirely true. Obviously I’ve explored towns outside of my 3-town comfort zone (which for me consists of Mt Kisco, Chappaqua and Katonah). I’m also fairly savvy about Irvington and Tarrytown, White Plains and Bronxville. But I mean really explored. As in, visit the museums, the old historic houses, the parks, the theaters…you get the gist. I’m lookin’ for culture, people!

3) Explore Port Chester’s cuisine scene. I’ve been to bartaco, Nessa, Arrosto, Sonora and Lolita Cucina. But there is still so much unchartered territory for me, a pseudo-foodie. I am dying to get to Tarry Lodge, in addition to some of the more authentic Mexican spots in town. Any reco’s? Send them my way!

4) Find local music worth listening to. I don’t mean to offend any local musicians…(wait, are there any local musicians?) First of all, finding a local place around here that even showcases live music is a fete in and of itself — let alone expect that the music actually be worth listening to! What’s with this county? Do people really not like going out to hear live bands, or some folksy singer-songwriters? Can I get a fist pump for cabaret licenses?! Sheesh.

5) Have a bonfire in my yard. We bought a 100+ year-old house on a big ole’ piece of land with a “charming” little fire pit in the yard. By that I mean a cute little brick patio with rock “benches” in a half circle around a sorta-fire-pit-that-looks-more-like-a-ritual-site. Minor details really. We’ve never used it because we didn’t want to scare the neighbors. So… no time like the present! Who’s bringing the marshmallows?

6) Visit Bear Mountain. I hear it’s fun. And by fun I mean scenic. And by scenic I mean it’s a reason to get hubby up to Cold Spring with me, which means antique shopping. Winning!

7) Bike the Bronx River. Ok, so I’ve done this once before. But I was pretty hungover and I was on a bike I had borrowed from a friend. So it doesn’t count.

8) Volunteer for my Planning Board. I’m feeling particularly passionate about and affected by the doings in my town. So what better than to Be The Change.

9) Utilize my library. The way I see it, if we don’t use it, we’ll lose it. Paper media is a dodo already. We need to support these institutions. Because so help me, if I have to raise my kid(s) in a world with no libraries, I might go postal. Oh wait, we won’t have those either. (Note to self: come up with replacement  saying for the next generation, involving PS3’s or iPads.)

 10) Meet more of you. A few years ago, I co-founded a local networking group  for “Tweeters” called Westchester 140. Since then I co-founded The Chat Shop and subsequently, Westchat, with my creative partner Maria Colaco, the latter which has become a robust, frequently-used hashtag for Westchester news, updates and general conversation. But life’s have-to’s and what-not’s have really gotten in the way of our social prowess. I’d love to fix that.
Happy New Year to all of you. Please share any suggestions below for local to-do’s that you think should be added to my list!
2 Responses to “2012 To-Do List”

  1. anthony January 4, 2012 at 12:18 am #

    I can help you with quite a few of those wishes, lets chat!

  2. The Handsome Hubby January 4, 2012 at 4:31 pm #

    More nookie.

Leave a Reply

