It’s Foodie Week in Westchester!

19 Mar

Ah, finally, a celebration I can really get behind. One that involves FOOD. It’s Hudson Valley Restaurant Week, which is actually two weeks long. So I’m not sure why they don’t call it Hudson Valley Restaurant Weeks. Minor infraction, I guess.

Last week I participated in a Twitter party hosted by Maria Colaco and Westchester Tourism, during which we talked food for an hour – and guess who chatted with us? None other than Peter Kelly of X20 and Iron Chef and all that jazz. Who by the way, only has a handful of Twitter followers. How is that even possible?? He’s like a food genius. If Tom Colicchio can amass 278,000 followers, Chef Peter Kelly should have at least that. I mean, what does that Colicchio dude even do besides act sarcastic on Top Chef? Does the man even cook? So go follow Peter Kelly. Poor guy…

I digress. The Twitter chat was great, and not just because I won a $100 gift certificate to Fig & Olive (Scarsdale), but because I got to chat with Fig & Olive peeps. Which makes them human, and friendly, and that makes dining there feel even more special. Which reminds me, it’s why I love getting emails from Crabtree’s Kittle House – they are fun, down to earth, and they don’t take themselves too seriously, despite their epicurean pedigree. (Note to self: I think I should make a Restaurant Week rezzie there too.)

This year I’m going to try to hit up some HVRW spots for lunch. I usually do the dinner thing, but it’s been a rough few weeks and the hubby and I are sort of on opposing schedules at the moment (I blame the Knicks and his new moonlighting career as a sports writer.) So lunch means I can get some quality time with friends for a fraction of the cost. Win win (except for the hubby, I guess it’s lose, lose for him). Wednesday I’ll be heading over to The Cookery, because really, what better place to enjoy a fabulous meal than one where the staff wear t-shirts that read “Eat More Bone Marrow”?

Where will you be dining this week?

Leave a Reply

