Obamamania!

10 May

Yesterday was a really interesting day of news stories. Etsy, one of my favorite brands, raised $40 million to help grow themselves into a one-stop shop for creative independent businesses, though it hasn’t quite defined what that means. I almost feel like, who cares what it means. I’m just super-excited to see their growth, period. They are in essence, my generation’s creative, entrepreneurial ecosystem, and they do it like no one else.

Then there was the news that Vidal Sassoon died. Having spent six years of my career with Matrix (L’Oreal), this was especially sad news. Those six years working within the hairdressing industry taught me so much about Vidal, and his story, and how he’s inspired thousands of people to get behind the chair and explore the question, “what is beauty?” I was sad to hear that the industry lost their iconic leader.

But the real powerful news yesterday, for me at least, was hearing our awesome, amazing, ballsy Prez take a stand in support of gay marriage. Not just domestic partnerships, mind you. GAY MARRIAGE. I nearly cried when I watched the video clip. To me, yesterday will forever be marked in history – the same way women’s lib and desegregation and prohibition repeal were – as an event that changed this country.

Forget the fact that as a progressive, liberal New Yorker, I find it mind-boggling that the LGBT community is still fighting for basic rights in many parts of this country. Let’s not even get into the news that came out of North Carolina yesterday (DISGRACEFUL). But the fact that we as a country (still) treat certain people so radically differently is shameful. Reading some of the “comments” that people posted on various sites online in response to Obama’s stance yesterday makes me despise ignorant people even more than I already do. These people should be ashamed of themselves for their small-mindedness and hate mongering. Even right here in Westchester, on our very own Chappaqua-Mount Kisco Patch, some of the comments in response to the Prez’s statement are so despicably ignorant I’m kind of embarrassed. Who are these people?

Yesterday made me proud; but it also made me spend some time reflecting back to my late friend Thomas, who committed suicide six years ago, after a lifetime of depression and addiction. His family didn’t support his lifestyle. During his teen years (in the late ’60s), they tried to “change” him through shock therapy. He spent the rest of his life dealing with the side effects of that, until he killed himself. I wish he were alive yesterday to hear our black President publicly condone his right to an equal, peaceful existence. He would have been floored.

Gay people fight in our military and protect us against dangers we couldn’t even imagine. Gay people treat our children in hospital ERs. Gay people comfort our elderly family members in hospice. Gay people create beautiful art that transforms us. Gay people fly airplanes that transport us across oceans and mountains… safely. And yet we treat them as second class citizens – No, worse: we don’t even let them grieve for their loved ones. We don’t offer them protection within the law. We should really be ashamed of ourselves.

A friend of mine posted this video on her Facebook page yesterday. It’s moving and powerful, and puts in perspective how unfair it is to be treated with inequality. I hope you’ll take a few minutes and watch it. And think about yourself and the own people you love. Imagine if this were your fate – or theirs?

The gay community has given us Ellen, Rachel Maddow, Anderson Cooper, Tom Ford, Marc Jacobs, Jann Wenner, Nick Denton, Andy Cohen…sigh, should I go on? Without our gay community we’re kind of just stuck with a lot of assholes, like… Michele Bachmann. And Bill O’Reilly. And Ted Nugent. Is that really something to be so proud of, America? I think not.

4 Responses to “Obamamania!”

  1. meri May 10, 2012 at 10:40 am #

    I cried watching that video. I hope he keeps talking and I really hope people start listening. By the way, I can’t stand reading those comments, I mean really, who the heck are these people?

  2. Deirdre @ BklynorBeyond.com May 10, 2012 at 1:19 pm #

    Love.

  3. marta May 10, 2012 at 3:57 pm #

    True true true!!!!! Every last word so well said!!! Love it!!!!!!

  4. Ny yankee May 10, 2012 at 10:09 pm #

    I agree w/you 100% that gay couples should be able to marry. You need to realize that your president did this because his back was against the wall & the media actually challanged him on somthing. Obama is an absolute train wreck who is destroying this country economically & racially…. The only good thing is that jimmy carter wont be viewed as our worst president. What bothers me most is that intelligent people still want this loser in office

Leave a Reply

