Random Thoughts.

2 Jun

1) Is bathing suit shopping EVER fun? No. I need to understand why bathing suit bottoms always nip in and pinch my skin and make me look muffin-top-y, but regular underwear does not. I think I will start wearing my underwear to the beach.

2) Speaking of the beach, did you know it now costs $12 a person to get onto it at Long Beach, NY for the DAY? Seriously. What a racket.

3) I’m feeling ‘meh’ about Westchester again. Quick, someone name 3 awesome things about living here.

4) Dieting is a cop-out. It means you couldn’t hack it as a foodie. I refuse to lose.

5) Twitter is starting to feel like a boring old advert. I used to feel so inspired! Now everyone I know has 14 Twitter accounts, and they just repost all their content on each, so I see the same things over and over again in my stream.

6) My favorite thing in the world today is the deliberate way my 22 month old says the word “gahbage.” I spent all morning looking for things to give him to throw in the trash, just so he could say it again. Yes, it’s Saturday, and yes, that’s how I spent my morning. Don’t judge.

7) So zombies? They’re real. And apparently, they’re starting in Miami. Sweet, I’m really glad my worst nightmare is coming true.

8) I asked hubby to get me a pastrami on rye sandwich for lunch. He did just that. I ate the sandwich. And then I was annoyed, because I felt really full afterward. So in my head, I blamed him. That’s normal, right?

9) My summer vacation is three weeks away. I’m already packed. Again… normal, right?

10) Bruce Willis? Bill Murray? Wes Anderson? Francis McDormand? Ed Norton? Tilda Swinton? Amazeballs.

5 Responses to “Random Thoughts.”

  1. Erin S. June 2, 2012 at 2:58 pm #

    Holy crap!!! Moonrise Kingdom looks amazing. There is so much to love about Wes Anderson. The way he legitimizes the inherent drama of being a kid. His obsession with shooting adults in child-size structures. The cinematography that makes you achingly wish you lived in another era. Just awesome, and what a cast. Where the hell has Ed Norton been anyway? Also, speaking of amazing entertainment, we finally watched Girls. LOVE. And P.S. If bathing suit shopping stinks for you, what hope is there for any of the rest of us (not named Giselle)?

  2. Sarah O'Grady (south) June 2, 2012 at 3:00 pm #

    It’s a good thing you’re packed. That way you’ll be ready when your vacation actually starts in two weeks. Can’t wait!!

  3. Meri June 2, 2012 at 4:55 pm #

    I too hate bathing suit shopping. Someone today told me about a store at the Westchester that sells every kind of bathing suit you can imagine and they fit.

    Zombies…they scare the shit out of me. Did you not hear about that guy in NJ? Go google it.

    Ps…the muffin top comes along with motherhood. Get over it and buy a tankini 🙂

  4. almnole June 9, 2012 at 9:37 am #

    Have you checked out weewestchester.com? You may like!! You probably already heard of but just in case 😉

  5. Arianne June 22, 2012 at 11:55 am #

    Four things I love about westchester (from a fellow transplant and mamma)

    1. The playground and beach in Mammaroneck;

    2. If you need a random, awesome night out, going all Irish at the Bars on McLean ave. in Yonkers. I’m not a big drinker or clubber, but there is something AWESOME about being in a little dive bar where almost everyone there has come from Ireland in the last 5 years.

    3.Kensico Dam – I don’t know if you can still do it, but a few years back we hiked up the side bapth and walked around the top of the dam, and it was awesome.

    3. (this is showing my geek side) Westchester Gaming Group – there are a lot of smart, friendly, awesome people who get together in Westchester to play European Board Games (which are like the American Board games you are familiar with, except they don’t suck). Mostly folks in their 30’s, meeting up in people’s homes or Barnes and Noble, but it’s allowed me to have more social life, even with kids… That’s my four.

Leave a Reply

