What I will miss most about New York.

28 Sep
  1. My house. I know this house has been on my “what I dislike most” lists over the years. It’s old. It’s creaky. It’s been a labor of love. But man, it’s a cool house, on a cool piece of property, in a cool neighborhood, in a cool town. It is the first “house” I’ve ever owned. It’s where we brought our son home from the hospital. It’s where I hosted my first Thanksgiving. It’s where I grew my first garden. It’s our HOME.
  2. My Kisco crew. You know who you are. You make this town colorful and interesting. I will miss our fun dinners, evenings at Pour, and Tuesday mornings at Starbucks.
  3. The landscape. Getting in my car and just driving through pretty parts of the county is seriously one of my favorite things to do. I could get lost on back roads in Bedford and be happier than ever, just daydreaming and winding my way on pretty roads with horse farms and big gated houses. I truly love the beauty here.
  4. Homages to Italian at Cookery and Tarry Lodge. I’m guessing it will be harder to find real deal Italian grub in the south. Pizza… don’t even get me started. Oh, how I will miss you…
  5. My bestest girlfriends. My bestie Keren, who I’ve known since we were 16, when we trekked through Israel together for six weeks. Laura, who I met at my very first ad agency job in NYC and have been BFs with ever since. Erica, who came into my life in such an interesting way, as our husbands are best friends and we just hit it off – the rest is BF history. And Maria, who I’ve known the least amount of time of all and yet I feel like I’ve known for life (my sista from another mista!). Oh girls, how I will miss our dinners, date nights, coffee dates, weekend getaways, kiddie play dates and time together just being… us. (#sadface)
  6. The pride I feel in being a New Yorker. I came here with nothing; in a U-Haul truck with my girlfriend Marisa, immediately following college graduation. I had no job, no apartment… we scrambled and scrapped and figured it out, as almost every New Yorker does. I overcame a lot my first year living in the big city… and a lifetime’s worth in the coming decade. I worked for great companies, alongside brilliant people, I traveled, I became independent, I grew up, I learned a lot, I built up a thicker skin, I witnessed the largest terrorist attack on America’s soil, I bonded with my fellow New Yorkers and became stronger. I discovered ME. All in New York.
  7. Jack’s daycare. We were insanely lucky – and I feel so fortunate – to have found a daycare as fabulous as Kaleidoscope. They have been instrumental in helping shape the awesome kiddo Jack is today. He’s been there for 18 months now, and moved through 3 classrooms. Each teacher has been so caring, so devoted, and so genuinely interested in the kids and families and lives outside of school. Jack has a great group of friends he’s made while there, and we both will be sad to leave them behind. Today is his last day there, and this morning as I was dropping him off I broke down in tears, as the realization hit me just how much I’m going to miss this place.
  8. My smart, classy, sassy, savvy New York friends. All my blogging friends, my creatives, past co-workers, small business owners, biz partners, and acquaintances. I’m going to miss our chats, our coffees, our Serious Shit meetings, our brainstorms…
  9. Our collective family members. Including my brother, our cousins, my dad (in New Jersey), various aunts and uncles, my sister in law (in Philadelphia). We love having family nearby, and we hope they aren’t just saying it when they tell us they’ll be down to visit. We’re seriously holding them to it. Seriously.
  10. My in-laws. They live 20 minutes from us, and have been such a major part of our lives in every way, especially since Jack was born. We get to see them often, have impromptu visits and dinners together, and call on them for sleepovers with the Little. We are SO going to miss them and their unconditional love and support. (Can you see my heart bleeding as I type? I really, really love my in-laws!!)

We’re in the 48 hour stretch. Moving sucks. I don’t recommend it to anyone… unless of course you’re thinking of packing up and following us down south, which I welcome! More to come soon…

4 Responses to “What I will miss most about New York.”

  1. jeanette September 28, 2012 at 1:50 pm #

    We’ll miss you too. Lizzy and will will follow your blog and fb posts. Good luck to all of you!

  2. Keren September 28, 2012 at 2:08 pm #

    devastated.

  3. Cindy Lupica September 28, 2012 at 2:13 pm #

    so sad : (

  4. thegreatone333 September 28, 2012 at 4:50 pm #

    Not looking forward to goodbye my friend!!

Leave a Reply

